James Cameron: ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’ lacks George Lucas’s Visual Imagination

;:Screenshot_1162.png

Before I get into this article I just wanted to say sorry it’s been so long guys, ever since Exams hit me a few months ago it put my writing schedule off course and I really lost my motivation to really write and cover the film business, so as of today I’m actually back and I will be writing on a routine schedule once again because this is what I love to do.

It’s been six months since The Force Awakens was released in theatres across the world accumulating over $2 Billion Worldwide at the Box Office so which means everyone has seen it and yesterday James Cameron Director of some of the most Iconic films in the business gave his views on the film and for me his comments shed a light I never saw the first time I saw the film. So in an interview with (IndieWire) Cameron said:

“Well George Lucas is a friend of mine and he and I were having a good conversation the other day about it. I don’t want to say too much about the film cause I also have a lot of respect for J.J. Abrams, and I want to see where they’re taking it next, to see what they’re doing with it. I have to say that I felt that George’s group of six films had more innovative visual imagination, and this film was more of a retrenchment to things you had seen before and characters you had seen before, and it took a few baby steps forward with new characters. So for me the jury’s out, I wanna see where they go with it.”

Do I agree with what Cameron said completely?, no, not exactly but he does make good points even though I think Episode VIII is a great film I’ll contend that it does lack exactly what Cameron is describing in Lucas’s vision because let’s be real, he’s the guy who created Star Wars. Now am I saying he should Direct a fifth Star Wars film?, absolutely not but his input in future projects as miniscule as It could be, can be useful. The Star Wars films I can only see as getting better and more imaginative for here on out as Abrams did the best job he could In bringing everyone back to that universe while giving us a great film.

Screenshot_830.png

You can check out Cameron’s opinion on The Force Awakens here:

 

Leave a Reply

